Wiki

    Contact support:

    Email: support@erply.com

    26 Aug, 2021
    Permalink:
    Also available in:EstonianFinnish

    Removing Duplicated Clients

    This guide explains how to remove duplicate customer entries. Please note that duplicate customer entries can also be combined using the Client Merge plugin.

    How to remove duplicate customers

    Navigate to the Customers module and click All customers  

     

    From here you can search for the customer with multiple entries.

    When the duplicate customer is found, click on one of the customer's name.

      

    Edit the customer name to differentiate it from the other entry. In this example, we will add “Duplicate” to the end of the name.

    Note: We recommend marking the custer with less customer information as the duplicate entry.

    Scroll to the bottom of the duplicate customer’s page to the Sales invoices section. If an invoice exists, click on it to open it up.

    Change the name on the invoice to associate it with the correct non-duplicate customer. You can do this by clicking the magnifying glass button.

    And clicking on the name of the non-duplicate customer

    Save the invoice when done.

    Repeat this process for every invoice. 

    There will be a dialog regarding reloading item prices. Certain customers and product groups may have different price lists associated, so it is recommended to reload, but you can choose to keep current prices instead for the sake of your records.

    Once you have changed the name of the duplicate customer to that of the original customer, click Save.

    If you click on the original customer and scroll down to the invoices, you will see that the invoices of the duplicate customer are all there.

    When there are no more invoices assigned to the duplicate customer, you can return to the customer list and delete the duplicate by clicking “X” at the end of the row. 

    Note: While you can use this method to delete the duplicate, we recommend instead to change the duplicate customer name to “_DO NOT USE,” or something similar which will keep it in your records but separate from your active customers.